The Naumburg Trio – June 15 at 8:00pm

The Naumburg Trio takes its name from the Naumburg Competition, one of the oldest and most prestigious music competitions in the world. The members of the trio are all Naumburg winners. Violinist Frank Huang won in 2003, cellist David Requiro won in 2008 and pianist Gilles Vonsattel was the 2002 winner.

Click here to buy tickets!

David Requiro, cello:  First Prize winner of the 2008 Naumburg International Violoncello Competition, David Requiro (pronounced re-KEER-oh) has emerged as one of today's finest American cellists.  After also winning First Prize in both the Washington International and Irving M. Klein International String Competitions, he captured a top prize at the Gaspar Cassadó International Violoncello Competition in Hachioji, Japan, couple with the prize for the best performances of works by Cassadó.

"The recital amounted to an exciting catalog of Requiro's musical gifts.  Chief among these is the beauty of his string tone, a light-footed but resonant sound that seems to leap from the instrument.  The broad, fervent melodies of the first movement emerged dark but swift, without any fat on them, and the finale was brisk and brilliant.  To witness Requiro, with his baby face and fearless technique, tugging merrily at Papa Brahms' big beard was a rare treat."  – The San Francisco Chronicle

Frank Huang, violin:  When the New York Philharmonic opened its season in September 2015 a new violinist was sitting in the influential concertmaster chair at the front of the violin section, just to the left of music director Alan Gilbert.  His name is Frank Huang, a 37-year-old quietly intense violinist who until June held the same post with the Houston Symphony Orchestra.  He emerged as the winner after a two-week audition with the Philharmonic.  He has been in a position to have a great impact on the sound and style of the Philharmonic – more than any musician on the stage after any conductor.

Gilles Vonsattel, piano:  A "wanderer between worlds" (Lucerne Festival), an "immensely talented" and "quietly powerful pianist" (New York Times), Swiss-born American Gilles Vonsattel is an artist of extraordinary versatility and originality.  Comfortable and seeking out an enormous range of repertoire, Vonsattel displays a musical curiosity and sense of adventure that has gained him many admirers.  Recipient of an Avery Fisher Career Grant and winner of the Naumburg and Geneva competitions as well as the 2016 Andrew Wolf Chamber Music Award, he has in recent years made his Boston Symphony, Tanglewood, Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Munich Philharmonic, Gothenburg Symphony and San Francisco Symphony debuts.  A recent New York solo recital was hailed as "tightly conceived and passionately performed...a study in intensity" by the New York Times.


Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Piano Trio Op. 1, No. 1 in E-flat Major
  Adagio cantabile
  Scherzo: Allegro assai
  Finale: Presto

Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)

Piano Trio No. 1 in C minor, Op. 8


Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
Piano Trio in A minor, Op. 50
  Pezzo Elegiaco (Moderato assai – Allegro giusto)
Tema con variazioni
  Var I
  Var II: Più mosso
  Var III: Allegro moderato
  Var IV: L’istesso tempo (Allegro moderato)
  Var V: L’istesso tempo
  Var VI: Tempo di Valse
  Var VII: Allegro moderato
  Var VIII: Fuga (Allegro moderato)
  Var IX: Andante flebile, ma non tantoVar X: Tempo di mazurka
  Var XI: Moderato
Variazione finale e coda